I suggest you...

Customize categories

Even if you could just create "subcategories" under a specific categoty to fit your needs. For instance, under "assets", I would put "music" and "equipment". Under "office supplies", I might add "lesson supplies". I am a music teacher. This would still be aligned with the schedule c categories, bit would allow me to stay more organized as these broad categories apply to my business.

1,616 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    QB Self-Employed TeamAdminQB Self-Employed Team (Admin, QuickBooks Self-Employed) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

117 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This is a really important feature that's missing. Please include it! It's the only thing preventing me from using the app.

• ValerieValerie commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This is an important issue for me as well. Maybe QBSE could add a 'tagging' function, so we can create custom tags (that apply to our specific business needs) to the 'Other Expenses' on schedule C. As long as we can sort them and export an excel sheet with the tags.

According to the video I should have "chart of account's by the gear...it doesn't exist. Is this some sort of update?

• Wesley FranksWesley Franks commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This is ridiculous. My car insurance is not personal spending it's insurance on a vehicle that I use for Uber which not becomes a business expense.

• Brent WoodmanseeBrent Woodmansee commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate