What features should we work on?

Customize categories

Even if you could just create "subcategories" under a specific categoty to fit your needs. For instance, under "assets", I would put "music" and "equipment". Under "office supplies", I might add "lesson supplies". I am a music teacher. This would still be aligned with the schedule c categories, bit would allow me to stay more organized as these broad categories apply to my business.

2,016 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

AdminQB Self-Employed Team (Admin, QuickBooks Self-Employed) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

Thank you so much for your phenomenal ideas! We know implementing custom categories has been our most requested feature since we launched QuickBooks Self-Employed.

In order to make sure we provide the best possible solution, we’re actively researching how we could approach this so that it solves for the primary concerns that folks have raised here while also preserving the integrity of the Schedule C categories to ensure your Estimated Taxes aren’t negatively impacted.

We’ll keep you in the loop on our progress and will share any details as soon as we have them. In the meantime, keep the feedback coming!

303 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I am in the entertainment industry, and almost all of my usual categories would fall in "other business," basically renders the whole organization for tax purposes useless. Will have to pass on your software until custom categories is an option.

• MIke Natale commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate