I suggest you...

Customize categories

Even if you could just create "subcategories" under a specific categoty to fit your needs. For instance, under "assets", I would put "music" and "equipment". Under "office supplies", I might add "lesson supplies". I am a music teacher. This would still be aligned with the schedule c categories, bit would allow me to stay more organized as these broad categories apply to my business.

1,868 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    QB Self-Employed TeamAdminQB Self-Employed Team (Admin, QuickBooks Self-Employed) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

160 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Disgruntled but sticking with Q2007Disgruntled but sticking with Q2007 commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Intuit said: Sorry, you can't create custom categories in our app. Why? Because the categories we include have to have a 1:1 match with the IRS Schedule C categories form for self-employed individuals.

This is absurd and false. My schedule C for the last 18 years has had a series of self-defined categories; the form has a place with blank categories exactly for this purpose.

• Disgruntled but sticking with Q2007Disgruntled but sticking with Q2007 commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This is a deal-breaker for me. I am a consultant with specialized expenses - particular expenses are expensive enough that they can't simply be tossed in with these broad categories, and they don't fit in assets or anywhere else.

• Phil MilerPhil Miler commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate